Western Riverina Regional Catchment

Griffith: the agricultural capital of Western Riverina

With an estimated resident population of 26,586 and a catchment population of around 60,000, Griffith is the capital of the Western Riverina. Located 573km south west from Sydney, 463 km north of Melbourne and 358km south west from Canberra, Griffith Local Government Area is bounded by Leeton, Carrathool, Narrandera and Murrumbidgee Shires.

The Western Riverina Region is bounded by Central Darling Shire, Lachlan, Forbes, Weddin and Cobar Shires in the north, Wagga Wagga, Coolamon, Temora and Young in the east, Lockhart  Urana, Jerilderie Shire and Conargo Shires in the south, and Hay and Balranald Shires in the west.

For further information on the other Local Government Area's included within the catchment please visit their websites:

Bland Shire Council - www.blandshire.nsw.gov.au 
Carrathool Shire Council - www.carrathool.nsw.gov.au 
Leeton Shire Council - www.leeton.nsw.gov.au 
Murrumbidgee Council - www.murrumbidgee.nsw.gov.au 
Narrandera Shire Council - www.narrandera.nsw.gov.au

So what does the economic profile show about the Western Riverina region?

Population 57,005 (REMPLAN 2020)
Land area 4,788,047 - hectares (47,880 Km2
Population density 0.01 persons per hectare 
Industry Facts:

  • Combined Gross Regional Product for Bland, Carrathool, Griffith, Leeton, Murrumbidgee and Narrandera was over $4.3 billion in 2020.
  • The largest industries in terms of dollar value added are Manufacturing, which is mostly agriculture-related manufacturing such as food processing and beverage manufacturing and Agriculture.
  • For more information click here.