Griffith City Council Reviews Community Engagement Strategy

Friday, 16 Sep 2022

Griffith City Council Reviews Community Engagement Strategy The Griffith City Council Community Engagement and Communication Strategy is being reviewed to ensure it meets expectations.

Council’s Director, Economic and Organisational Development, Shireen Donaldson said, the Community Engagement and Communication Strategy, which also includes the Community Participation Plan, is being reviewed, with residents encouraged to have their say.

“The way in which we inform our community and increase understanding of Council’s decisions, services, facilities, events and activities and how we involve them in decision making has an impact on how satisfied the community feels with Council services,” she said.

“We understand that providing information and the opportunity to participate in Council decision making is important to our community.

“This strategy is a key document in our strategic framework and sets out how we interact with our community.”

The review aims to ensure engagement with the community is timely, accessible, accurate, transparent and genuine.

“We have also incorporated the Community Participation Plan to help the community clearly understand how they can participate, by outlining when and how Council will engage with the community and stakeholders across all planning decisions,” Ms Donaldson said.

“By having these two communication plans together we hope to provide a consistent commitment to the community about how we will engage and communicate across a range of areas.”

Griffith Mayor, Councillor Doug Curran said the Community Engagement and Communication Strategy aims to help Griffith residents and Council’s other stakeholders understand how and when Council will engage with them, and how they can have a real say on issues that affect their future.

“We have made great advances in community engagement during the current term of this Council, but there are always better ways to do things if we collaborate, listen and act, so please tell is where we can do better,” he said.

To view the Community Engagement Strategy or to find out more visit www.griffith.nsw.gov.au  
 

January 2023

  • Griffith Australia Day Winners Congratulated
    Griffith Australia Day Winners Congratulated
    Friday, 27 Jan 2023

    Sister Patricia Johnson has been named Griffith's Australia Day Citizen of the Year.

    Read more
  • Griffin Green Housing Project Reaches A New Milestone
    Griffin Green Housing Project Reaches A New Milestone
    Wednesday, 25 Jan 2023

    Argyle Housing and Griffith City Council’s Griffin Green Project has reached a new milestone with 20 townhouses taking shape, civil works well underway and preparations for the remediation of Dave Taylor Park to commence in the coming weeks.

    Read more
  • Regional Produce Hampers A Huge Success
    Regional Produce Hampers A Huge Success
    Tuesday, 24 Jan 2023

    Regional produce proved a popular Christmas list item in December, with close to 200 hampers ordered.

    Read more
  • Griffith City Library Launches 2023 Book Club Program
    Griffith City Library Launches 2023 Book Club Program
    Monday, 23 Jan 2023

    If you have a love of books and are interested in meeting with others to talk about books and share the enjoyment of reading, then the Griffith City Library Book Club program is for you.

    Read more
  • Murray Valley Encephalitis Virus Detected In Griffith
    Murray Valley Encephalitis Virus Detected In Griffith
    Friday, 20 Jan 2023

    Residents are encouraged to take measures to protect themselves against mosquito bites following the detection of Murray Valley Encephalitis (MVE) virus in mosquitoes in Griffith this week.

    Read more
  • Griffith City Library Courtyard Gets A Revamp
    Griffith City Library Courtyard Gets A Revamp
    Friday, 20 Jan 2023

    The Griffith City Library courtyard has undergone a transformation, with members invited to check out the newly revamped space.

    Read more
  • Musical Production Team Announced And Performers Wanted!
    Musical Production Team Announced And Performers Wanted!
    Friday, 20 Jan 2023

    Griffith Regional Theatre is pleased to announce the production team for the upcoming Community Musical The Wedding Singer, due to hit the stage in September, as the call goes out for performers.

    Read more
  • Survival Day Event Back In 2023
    Survival Day Event Back In 2023
    Wednesday, 18 Jan 2023

    Griffith’s Survival Day is back and it’s going to be even bigger and better this year!

    Read more
  • Reflect, Respect And Celebrate - Griffith Australia Day Nominees Announced
    Reflect, Respect And Celebrate - Griffith Australia Day Nominees Announced
    Wednesday, 18 Jan 2023

    On Thursday 26 January the Griffith community is encouraged to Reflect, Respect and Celebrate our nation and our people. Australia Day 2023 will present a particularly poignant and special opportunity to recognise the resilience of Australians and to focus on what we can achieve as a community and nation.

    Read more
  • Lake Wyangan Moves To Red Alert
    Lake Wyangan Moves To Red Alert
    Tuesday, 17 Jan 2023

    Griffith City Council wishes to advise that Lake Wyangan (North) is now on red alert.

    Read more
  • Residents Invited To First Community Opinion Group (cog) Meeting For 2023
    Residents Invited To First Community Opinion Group (cog) Meeting For 2023
    Tuesday, 17 Jan 2023

    Griffith City Council will kick off community consultation for 2023 on Tuesday 7 February, with the first Community Opinion Group (COG) Meeting held at the new Griffith Regional Sports Centre.

    Read more
  • Dive In Movie Set To Be A Super Splash In Griffith
    Dive In Movie Set To Be A Super Splash In Griffith
    Thursday, 12 Jan 2023

    In the lead up to Australia Day in Griffith, locals are invited to beat the heat with a Dive in Movie on Saturday 21 January 2023. Head to Griffith Regional Aquatic Leisure Centre (GRALC) to cool down while enjoying DC League of Superpets.

    Read more
  • Green Light Given To Lake Wyangan Flood Pump And Pipeline Project
    Green Light Given To Lake Wyangan Flood Pump And Pipeline Project
    Thursday, 12 Jan 2023

    Griffith City Council will reallocate funds in the 2022/23 budget to address unprecedented water levels at Lake Wyangan following last year’s floods.

    Read more
  • Art Gallery Opens For 2023 With Unlemon: A Meandering Tale Of Citrus
    Art Gallery Opens For 2023 With Unlemon: A Meandering Tale Of Citrus
    Monday, 09 Jan 2023

    Unlemon – a meandering tale of citrus reveals a multilayered story of citrus – its origins, trajectory, diversity and tenacity, is open from Saturday 14 January at Griffith Regional Art Gallery, kicking off the 2023 season.

    Read more
Griffith City Council Websites