Council >> Media Releases


Griffith City Council congratulates all new citizens and Australia Day Award recipients recognised at  Saturday, 26 January ceremony, held at Griffith Regional Theatre.

Chair of the Australia Day Working Party, Councillor Christine Stead, said the awards are an opportunity for local residents and community groups to be recognised for the important work they do.

“On behalf of the Griffith community, I congratulate the 2019 winners and of course, all of the deserving nominees for this year’s awards,” Councillor Stead said.

“The Australia Day awards are an important way we can pay tribute to the commitment and dedication of individuals and groups across Griffith that go above and beyond to support our community.

“I’d like to thank our Ambassador, Macinley Butson. It was a pleasure to have her here, she is such an inspiring young person.”

The official ceremony at Griffith Regional Theatre was well attended as was the breakfast at Griffith Pioneer Park Museum.

Winners of the 2019 Australia Day awards were:

  • Citizen of the Year –  Dr Peter Calaizis
  • Community Project of the Year – Griffith Cenotaph
  • Sportsperson of the Year – Letica Franchi
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Jordan Jasnos
  • Sports Team of the Year – Wade High School Under 15's Relay Team
  • Sports Council Award-Overall Sportsperson of the Year- Sharyn Millis
  • Club Person of the Year – Roy Binks
  • Local Hero (Mayors Award) – Roy Catanzariti

Griffith Mayor John Dal Broi congratulated all the winners and award nominees.

“All those nominated deserve recognition for the hard work and dedication to their community through their different activities,” Mayor Dal Broi said.

“Those who were honoured with an award are worthy of such recognition because they are the individuals and groups who work tirelessly to get things done for our community.

“There is a strong sense of community spirit here in Griffith and I’d also like to thank those who took the time to nominate their fellow community members.”