Council >> Media Releases


The winners of Griffith City Council’s annual Australia Day colouring-in competition for 2019 were announced at the official Australia Day Awards Ceremony today.

Chairperson of the Australia Day Working Party, Councillor Christine Stead, said the standard of colouring-in for this year’s competition was extremely high.

“It was difficult to choose the winners because there were just so many outstanding entries. Our entrants really excelled in creating some masterpieces this year,” said Councillor Stead.

“The annual colouring-in competition which is available for toddlers through to primary school students at the Griffith City Library, is an important part of celebrating Australia Day in Griffith. Each year we are overwhelmed by the response and quality of works submitted.”

Congratulations to this year’s winners, who are:

1 - 4 years

  1. Karman Singh Dhanoa
  2. Emily Nehme
  3. Genevieve Dunn

5 - 8 years

  1. Sejal Kaur Dhanoa
  2. Portia Flack
  3. Sanuli Abeysingha Jayawardana

9 - 12 years

  1. Lilly Ceccato
  2. Kayla Wright
  3. Emily Codemo

Councillor Stead thanked Collins Booksellers Griffith for their ongoing annual donation of first prize of a $20 gift voucher. Griffith City Council sponsors the second prize of $15 and third prize of $10 Gift Vouchers for each category.