Australia Day in Griffith

Each year Griffith City Council celebrates and recognises outstanding contributions from local residents and events through our annual Australia Day Awards. 

Nominations for the 2023 Awards have closed. 

The nominees are:

Citizen of the Year
Oscar and Margaret Bandiera                                                                                                                   
Bruno Brombal                                                                                                                
Sanita Lole                                                                                                                        
Valerie Woodland                                                                                                                          
Colin Beaton                                                                                                                    
Patricia Cox                                                                                                                      
Sister Patricia Johnson                                                                                                                 
Pauline Dance                                                                                                                 
Hank Veenhuizen and Terry Walsh    
Young Citizen of the Year 
Michael Lanza
Zavian Williams

Community Project of the Year
Griffith Community Centre 
Griffith Women on Fire Program

Sportsperson of the Year
Blake Testoni
Scott Bardney
Josh Stapleton

Young Sportsperson of the Year
Nicole Taylor     
Tess Jameison     
Charlee King     
Reif Leach     
Timeeka Coleman     
Shamia Williams     
Mackenzie Hassan     
Jack Johns

Sports Team of the Year
Griffith East Public School Girls AFL Team
Griffith Netball U15's Representative Team
Murrumbidgee Regional High School U14's Rugby League Team
Griffith East Public School Netball Team
Griffith Demons Basketball under 12's Rep Team

Club Person of the Year
Michael Crosato
Peter Stockwell

Award winners will be announced at the  Australia Day Award Ceremony on Thursday, 26 January 2023 at Griffith Regional Theatre from 10am.  Sixty four new citizens will be welcomed at this ceremony.

Please contact Melissa Canzian on 1300 176 077 for more information.

Survival Day 2023

Griffith Local Aboriginal Land Council  will be hosting our annual Survival Day event again in 2023 at the Griffith Regional Aquatic & Leisure Centre from 11am to 5pm.
But this time, it's going to be bigger and better, with special guests, performances, stalls and much more.
This day is open for all, no matter where you're from, where you're going, or your walk of life. 

Find out more about Survival Day here.

Australia Day Awards Winners for 2021 (awarded January 2022):


Citizen of the Year
Richard (Steve) Mortlock
Community Project of the Year 
Griffith Curry and Jam
Sportsperson of the Year
Nicole Taylor
Young Citizen of the Year 
Nayani Navaneethan
Junior Citizen of the Year
Young Sportsperson of the Year
Nicole Taylor

Sports Team of the Year

U12s Griffith Academy Football Club

Environmental Citizen of the Year
Hampers of Hope

Club Person of the Year
Local Hero (Mayors Award)
John Dal Broi

If you would like to view the previous Australia Day Winners, please click here

Useful Links

Australia Day Council
Australia Day Council of NSW
Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Griffith City Council Websites